On this page
It depends on your heat. The Energy Affordability Program (Save on Energy) serves electricity customers and can include a free cold-climate heat pump for electric- or oil-heated homes. Home Winterproofing (Enbridge) is for homes heated by Enbridge gas. One application screens you for both.
Key facts
| EAP | HWP | |
|---|---|---|
| Status | Open | Open |
| Run by | Save on Energy (IESO) | Enbridge Gas (with Save on Energy) |
| How much | Free upgrades (no cost to eligible households) | Free upgrades (no cost to eligible households) |
| Heating fuel | Electricity customers (heat pump for electric or oil heat) | Enbridge natural gas |
| Energy assessment first | Yes | Yes |
| Approval before you install | Varies or not stated | Varies or not stated |
| Income-tested | Yes | Yes |
| Lists the other as stackable | Yes | Yes |
| Last verified | October 12, 2026 | October 12, 2026 |
Energy Affordability Program and Home Winterproofing Program side by side, from our program database
Program data last verified
RebateHub, “Energy Affordability Program vs Home Winterproofing (Ontario)”, https://rebatehub.ca/compare/energy-affordability-program-vs-home-winterproofing#key-facts (last verified October 12, 2026).
Check your free upgrades
See which free program fits your home
Answer yes to the income question in the finder. It shows the free programs for your heating fuel, with the official site to apply.
- Ontario
- Insulation
- Heat pumps
About a minute · no account · independent, not the government
Income limits (the same for both)
Before-tax household income is under the limit ($48,220 for 1 person, $68,193 for 2, $83,518 for 3, $96,439 for 4, $107,823 for 5, $118,113 for 6, $127,576 for 7 or more), or someone in the home receives Ontario Works, ODSP, LEAP, the Guaranteed Income Supplement, the Allowance for Seniors or Survivors, Healthy Smiles Ontario, OESP or Energy Affordability Program support.
The Energy Affordability Program also accepts people who received certain benefits in the past 12 months. See the program page for the full list.
What each one gives you
| Upgrade | Amount | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| Comprehensive Support: free assessment and upgrades | Free | LEDs, ENERGY STAR appliances, power strips, and water-saving devices for electric hot water homes. |
| Insulation, draft-proofing and smart thermostat | Free | For homes heated by electricity or oil. |
| Cold-climate air-source heat pump | Free | For electric or oil-heated homes. The oil-to-heat-pump option is supported by federal NRCan funding. |
| Energy Saving Kit | Free | Mailed within 3 to 6 weeks. Higher income limits than Comprehensive Support. |
Energy Affordability Program: what's included. Source: saveonenergy.ca · verified October 12, 2026.
| Upgrade | Amount | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| Home energy assessment | Free | |
| Attic, wall and basement insulation; draft-proofing | Free | Installed where the assessment shows a need. |
| Smart thermostat | Free | For participants who receive insulation or draft-proofing. |
| Energy Affordability Program add-ons | Free | ENERGY STAR appliances, LEDs and similar items through the combined application. |
Home Winterproofing: what's included. Source: enbridgegas.com · verified October 12, 2026.
Can you use both?
Yes, they work together. Each lists the other as stackable, and Enbridge screens applicants for both programs with one application. Neither program signs people up by phone or door-to-door: read how to spot a rebate scam.
Honest downsides
- Home Winterproofing excludes apartments and condominiums, and renters need written landlord permission.
- The free heat pump in the Energy Affordability Program is for electric- or oil-heated homes, not gas-heated ones.
- If you're above the income limits, neither applies: use Home Renovation Savings instead.
Frequently asked questions
Sources
Last updated . Amounts and rules come from the official program pages below. If something has changed, please tell us.